Skip to content

Project AWAKE Board Members and Mission

Mission Statement

The Project AWAKE mission is to cultivate appreciation and awareness of the environment in our community by managing the Newton Arboretum and the Krumm Center, and advocating for urban conservation, recreation, and education.  

Project AWAKE Board of Directors

Lana Wohlers – Co-President 
Leah Busch – Co-President
Ina Heidemann – Vice President
Ryan Zink – Treasurer
Teresa Lyman – Secretary
John Fruetel
Doug Thoma
Christina Anderson
Dan Schoenfelder
Emily McConkey
Shannon Saul
Franny Atmore
Dawn Bleeker
Christy McCormick
Kelly Cooper

Newton Arboretum & Botanical Gardens’ Staff

Leah Busch – Director of Horticulture
Christy McCormick – Office Manager

GET INVOLVED!! Project AWAKE welcomes new candidates interested in serving on the Board of Directors. Please send a message to with any questions. We would love to hear from you!!